Blake & Ambrose History


Home Up

 




The following document, revised by Leigh Larson, was originally prepared in 1966 by Irma Ruth (Mason) Anderson, which she updated in 1970.

 

THE BLAKE-AMBROSE FAMILY HISTORY

Modified Reprint of the History

Originally Compiled by

IRMA RUTH (MASON) ANDERSON

SANTA CRUZ, CALIFORNIA

1966

Including her 1970 Updates

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction                                                                                                                                    

Part One - Ancestors of Simon S. Blake and Mary Magdalena Ambrose                          

Part Two - Descendants of Simon S. Blake and Mary Magdalena Ambrose (2F) with some collateral lines

 

 INTRODUCTION

 

The descendants of Simon S. and Mary M. (Ambrose) Blake are many and are widely scattered throughout the United States. It is truly a family which typifies the settlement of America from earliest times to the present. While they were not frontiersmen they were among the pioneers who went forth to clear the land, make homes and build towns in areas as they became available for settlement.

 

All of the immigrant ancestors of the Blake-Ambrose family arrived in America before the War of the Revolution and some were among the earliest settlers of New England and Virginia. They came from the troubled places of England and Europe where persecution and privation were prevalent. They landed at the ports of Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Jamestown, but within a generation we find them beginning to converge in the colonies of Pennsylvania and Maryland, the two colonies which granted the greatest freedom to the individual and which were most tolerant in religion. They ultimately gathered in the southern tier of Pennsylvania counties and in Frederick and Washington counties of Maryland before crossing the Endless Mountains in search of land, independence and opportunity.

 

Among them was the spirit of dissent as well as an intensity of religious fervor, and all were avid for land. The Abbott and Walling families were established members of Roger Williams' colony in Rhode Island by 1650; Charles Gorsuch had left the Church of England and Virginia for Maryland where Quakers were accepted; and the Walborns and Batdorfs went through untold hardships in search of the kind of the farming land they had left in Germany finding it eventually in Lancaster and Berks County, Pennsylvania. The Blakes were devout Methodists and in every line descended from the Rev. Burdine Blake there may be found ministers or missionaries. Matthias Ambrose helped establish the first Reformed Church in the Monocacy Valley of Maryland; Christian Walborn and Martin Batdorf did the same for the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the Tulpehocken Valley of Pennsylvania.

 

The chief motive which impelled a settler to leave one home for another was to possess land of his own. As soon as grants from the king to colonizing companies made land available, people were there to occupy it. Movement away from New England began early, partly for religious reasons and partly for more fertile land. The Germans landing in Philadelphia pushed westward quickly for farm land. The soil of Virginia was exhausted from tobacco culture years before the Revolution, and the colonists in their search for a better living, moved north and south before attempting to cross the mountains which faced them on the west.

 

Frederick County, Maryland was the focal point of settlement for our families, thereby illustrating perfectly the statement made by Dieter Cunz that "Frederick County was the first place in America where immigrants from England met and mingled with the continental European." In fact, all our ancestors were in that vicinity or in nearby Pennsylvania at the time of the Revolution, ready at the end of the war to follow the path made by the frontiers­men through the pass made by the Potomac River and its tributaries.

 

The Ambrose family was among the first to settle in Brothersvalley Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania. At a later date the Blakes joined other Maryland families who had gone to Morrison's Cove in northern Bedford County.

 

A generation passed before the Ambroses ventured another move west, going first to Clinton County, Indiana, and about twenty years later to the far frontier in Wisconsin on the banks of the Kickapoo River in Richland County. The Blake family dispersed in many directions across the newly opened western lands ‑ to Ohio, the Indian Territory, Kentucky, and Wisconsin.

 

In 1854 Simon Blake took up land in the town of Orion, the center of settlement and supplies for Richland County on the northern bank of the Wisconsin River. The first year he was engaged as a clerk in a store and it was no doubt there that he met Mary Ambrose whose family had recently arrived from Indiana. They were married in 1855 and remained in Wisconsin as did many of their children, but others continued on to the Pacific Coast. One such was the family of James E. and Viola (Blake) Mason. Their story of going by covered wagon to Rooks County, Kansas, living there during eight years of drought and catastrophe, then moving on to Spokane County, Washington, again by covered wagon, will be told in a further publication on the Mason-Bradshaw family.

 

As one of their children, born in a sod house in Kansas, I am grateful for the opportunity I have had for doing personally the research which has led back to so many of my immigrant ancestors. My thanks go to the relatives who have supplied information on the more recent generations, especially to Mrs. Arline Ambrose Ringhand of Oregon, Wisconsin, who gathered the Ambrose material; to Mrs. Marian Hadden Jones of Denver who spent many hours in research on the early history of the Blake family; to Glenn A. Lovell of Oak Park, Illinois, for his interest and encouragement; to Mrs. Marian Pratt O'Brien of Santa Monica, California, for technical assistance; and to Glenn Allan Abbey, Foreign Service Officer of the United States Department of State, now deceased, who started me on the search for my ancestors.

 

I wish to express my appreciation for the cooperation and courtesies extended to me by the many County Court Houses, libraries and Historical Societies in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, New York and Washington, D.C.

 

Irma Ruth Mason Anderson

(Mrs. Arvid E. Anderson)

144 Kenneth Street

Santa Cruz, California 95060

 

January, 1966

   
 

THE BLAKE-AMBROSE FAMILY HISTORY

Part One

Ancestors of Simon S. Blake and Mary Magdalena Ambrose

 

Chart

Number

 

(2) Simon S. Blake and (3) Mary Magdalena Ambrose.

Simon S. Blake was born in Martinsburg, Bedford (later Blair) Co. PA. , Oct. 29, 1829 and died in Richland Center, WI March 5, 1904. Mary Magdalena Ambrose was born near Ligonier, Westmoreland Co., PA April 30, 1836 and died in Richland Center, WI May 10, 1909. They were married in the town of Orion, WI Jan. 18, 1855. Both are buried in the Oak Ridge cemetery there. 

As a youth Simon's experiences were many and varied. Until he was fourteen he was in school or helped his father on the farm. Then he tried his hand at learning the trades of merchant tailor, blacksmith and ax­making, but finally engaged in teaching. When he was seventeen he tried to enlist in the service of the United States for the Mexican War. As he was underage and his parents withheld their consent, he returned to ax-making until he was twenty‑one. In the fall of 1852 he visited relatives in Ironton, OH then went on to Arkansas where he worked in the lumbering business for seven months. Returning to Pennsylvania he taught school for a four‑month winter term.

 

It is not certain that Simon's brothers, Thomas and Charles, accompanied him to Richland County, WI when he went there to take up land in 1854, but it was not long before they, as well as his sisters' families - The Brennemans and Hamiltons - joined him. Land at $1.25 an acre enticed many from the east to settle in this part of the frontier. At this time the Ambroses arrived from Indiana. The land was still virgin forest so these first settlers established their homes in the same fashion their fathers had made homes in the forests of Pennsylvania by clearing the land, building log cabins and planting crops.

 

Simon entered 120 acres of land on Sections 17 and 18 of the town of Orion then went to work in the village as a clerk in a store. Quite possibly it was there he met Mary Ambrose (3) now a girl of nineteen, and he lost no time in proposing. They were married the following January. He left the store in the fall and taught a 3-month term of school at Pleasant Hill in the town of Eagle. The next spring they settled on his land on Oak Ridge and continued to live there until their latter years when they moved to the town of Richland Center.

 

They had three small children - Sylvester, Ida and Viola (1) when Simon responded to the call of Abraham Lincoln and enlisted in the 25th Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry for a term of three years. He was wounded at Decatur, GA, in July, 1864 on Sherman's march to the sea. He used to tell his children how the ladies from the plantation mansion brought him food and water until he was taken from the battlefield to the field hospital. As his wound was serious he was sent from there to the Harvey General Hospital in Madison, WI and remained there until he received a disability discharge on March 20, 1865.

 

Simon Blake was interested in public affairs and held several town offices. In politics he was a Republican, and Viola would often be his companion in attending political rallies. He was deeply religious and helped to establish the Methodist church on Oak Ridge. This log church is no longer in existence but nearby in the cemetery Simon and Mary Blake lie buried.

 

Mary Magdalena Ambrose was nine years old when her parents moved from the old homestead near Ligonier, PA to Clinton Co., IN. They settled on land near Russiaville and remained there until 1854 when they migrated with their relatives, the Kanables, to Wisconsin.

 

Mary is remembered as a quiet, unassuming person busy with the care of raising a family of ten children, two of whom died in infancy. She seldom attended church as she was usually preparing dinner for the preacher who still had one, perhaps two, appointments yet to make. Their home was not a home of plenty, but they were hospitable and willing to share - a characteristic of most frontier people.

 

Their children were:

Sylvester Fremont 1856 - 1921. Mar. Ida Halsey. No issue. Buried in East Side Cemetery, Dodgeville, Iowa Co., WI.

Ida Elmira 1858 - 1941. Mar. William S. Abbey

Viola Genoa 1861 - 1956. Mar. James Eddy Mason

Mary Estella 1863 - 1940. Mar. 1) Elbion Ewing, 2) Joseph Davis

Salome Caroline 1865 - 1948. Mar. Luzern Pugh

John Ambrose died in infancy

Cora Jane 1869 - 1918. Mar. Wallace Pratt

Grant Burdine died in infancy

Dora Belle 1873 - 1941. Mar. Charles Herbert Lovell

Edna Pearl 1876 - 1973. Mar. Wallace Lawton

 

For their dates and descendants see Part Two.     Chart #2F.

(4) Burdine Blake and (5) Mazey Ann Simpkins.  

Burdine Blake was born Jan. 13, 1800 in Lancaster Co. , PA and died Aug. 26, 1874 in Martinsburg, PA. Mazey Ann Simpkins was born in February of 1794 in Washington Co., MD and died April 1, 1867. in Martinsburg, PA. They were married in Washington Co. Dec. 14, 1818 by the Rev. Mr. Keedy of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

There are no records to tell us of the exact place of Burdine's birth. His father, James, as a founderer went from place to place in the course of his occupation, and no doubt went to the furnaces in the Blue Ridge Mts. of Maryland from those in Lancaster Co. PA. It must have been there that he met Burdine's mother, Ann, after his first wife's death. A man with five small children would not remain long unmarried. It was natural that Burdine would become a moulder under his father's supervision. The Simpkins family who lived between Beaver Creek and Boonsboro were probably neighbors.

 

Mazey Ann Simpkins (5) was the seventh child in a family of ten children: seven girls and three boys. She was six years older than Burdine at the time of their marriage and twenty‑four years old. She was probably considered an "old maid", but her picture taken years later reveals her as a gentle, sweet person, poised, and no doubt capable. That she was sensitive about the difference in their ages is revealed by the fact that in all Federal Census reports she gives her age the same as her husband's, but the truth is revealed on her tombstone.

 

In 1820 shortly after the birth of their first child, James, they joined the flow of settlers leaving Maryland for Morrison's Cove in Bedford (now Blair) Co., PA. James Senior and Junior were already at the furnaces in Huntington Co., PA. Morrison's Cove was a broad, fertile valley in the heart of the Appalachian Mts. which were known to the early settlers as the Endless Mountains. Burdine took up land, as did his brothers, Simon and James, and became primarily a farmer, but it was by no means his sole interest.

 

It is probable that Burdine was influenced in his decision to become a preacher by the Rev. Jacob Gruber who was a dynamic and unconventional evangelist of that time and area. Ella Snowberger writes of him in "Bygone Days in the Cove" as follows:

 

Rev. Burdine Blake, pioneer farmer, at one time owned several hundred acres of land in and toward the north and west of Martinsburg. . . Sensing the need of missionary work among the forgemen working at the Peter Schoenberger iron banks at Rebecca Furnace, Henrietta Ore Hill, Maria Furnace, Neff's Mill and Royer, he entered the ministry. Daniel Bloom, a tanner, answering the call, associated himself with Rev. Blake. The two of them, the farmer preacher and the tanner preacher, established mission points in the school houses at these various places and spread the gospel under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Physically a powerful man and blessed with a stentorian voice, Burdine Blake preached with fist and tongue. As proficient at quelling a riot as at exhorting, the iron‑workers, hard‑boiled lot as many of them were, regarded him with profound respect... In instances when some unruly spirit was moved to unseemly outburst during divine service, it was nothing unusual for Burdine Blake to jump down from the pulpit and lay corrective hands on the recalcitrant. However after the stalwart preacher's reputation for physical prowess became, established, disorder in and around the mission points became beautifully rare. Per­haps "Buck and Berry", as they were known, were at their best at camp meetings in the grove which stood formerly along the Bloomfield road south of Martinsburg between the State Highway and the River Brethren church. . . The old exhorter left an imprint on the religious life of this section which the exigencies of time cannot blot out."  

He was ordained an elder, and his name appeared in the Minutes of the Central Pennsylvania Annual Conference as such until 1870. By terms of his will his house and the lot on which it stood became the property of the Martinsburg Church as long as it was used as a parsonage.

The children of Burdine and Mazey Ann Blake were:

James b. Sept. 18, 1819, Washington Co., Md.: d. July 6, 1896, Martinsburg, PA. m. Margaret Ellen Brown, March 14, 1844. Their children were John W., James, Ulysses Grant, William Packer, Millard Fillmore, Charlotte, Burdine, Mary and Alice.

William Simpkins b. April 25, 1821; d. June 8, 1899 in Ogle County, IL; m. Catherine Gearhart, May 18, 1843. Their children were Albert McClay, Charles E., Wilbur, Laura, Millard Fillmore, William and Franklin G.

Burdine 1823 ‑ 1907. M. Mary Ellen Murray. Their children were James F., William Burdine and Daniel F.

Mazey Ann b. Feb. 3, 1825; d. Aug. 24, 1870. M. 1) Henry Brenneman, Aug. 11, 1844 by whom she had five sons, Martin, Albert L., Anthony, Alexander Marion and Henry Burdine; m. 2) Waldron Drew, 1855 by whom she had Josephiae Blanch, Samuel Wesley, Hubert Lee, Cordelia, Caroline and Elmer Ellsworth.

Rebecca Jane b. _____ d. 1906/7 in Wisconsin; m. Jacob Hamilton. Their children were John, William Byrdine and Laura.

Simon S. (2)

Thomas M. b. Aug. 23, 1831. Children: Fannie and Orren

Charles W.T. b. 24 June, 1834; d. Nov. 24, 1905. M. Sarah C. Taylor. Children: Belle Saloma, Mazey E., Hattie D., Harlan Burdine, Etta, James T., Dr. Charles W.

 

In the 1850s sons Simon, Charles and Thomas went to Wisconsin. William spent a few years in Washington Co., MD before moving on to Ogle County, IL. Burdine, Jr. went west then returned to Ohio before settling in West Virginia. The husbands of Mazy Ann and Rebecca Jane moved their families to Richland Co., WI and settled near Simon. Charles and Thomas eventually established themselves in Iowa. James alone remained in Martinsburg.

 

Seven months after the death of Mazey Ann Blake in 1867 Burdine married Mrs. Barbara Stiffler, a widow with grown children: At the time she was a Catholic but joined the Methodist Church in 1871. By terms of his will, Burdine was to be buried by the side of Mazey Ann in the Martinsburg cemetery.

 

(6) John Walker Ambrose and (7) Salome Kanable.  

John Walker Ambrose was born July 21, 1798 near Ligonier, PA, and died Aug. 7, 1880 in the Town of Forest, Richland Co., WI. He married Salome Knable (7), Jan. 22, 1824 in Somerset County. She was born Dec. 30, 1804 in Milford Township, Bedford (now Somerset) Co., PA., and died Nov. 27, 1882 in the Town of Forest, Richland County, WI. Both are buried in the Old Hopewell Cemetery on Hopewell Ridge near Viola, WI.

The Ambrose and Knable families were originally neighbors in Somerset Co., PA, but John's father moved to Ligonier Valley in Westmoreland Co. about 1790. Their new home was about twenty‑five miles distant, over Laurel Hill on the Forbes Road to Pittsburgh ‑ not too far to maintain contact with friends and relatives in Milford Township but a rugged trip over the mountains nevertheless. It seems that John Walker was the only one of the family to return to Somerset Co. for his bride, and according to the baptismal records of Sanners Lutheran Church they remained near their Knable relatives.

 

In 1845 they joined Sally's parents in moving with their entire family to Clinton Co., IN. All but the four youngest of this family of fifteen were married at this time. Nine years later, Levi Kanable with nine of his sisters and their families migrated to the frontier in Richland County, WI. They had been preceded by other Clinton Co. residents who had returned and told them of this land which was now available and so much like their earlier home in Somerset County. Did they long for the wooded hills during their stay on the plains of Indiana? Farming may have been easier there, but clearing the land of trees and building log cabins had been the 'heritage of these families for three generations.

 

Orion on the Wisconsin River was the center of settlement and supplies. The Ambroses remained here for a few months then went into the woods to take up land in the Town of Forest whose village settlement came to be called Viola.

 

The first town meeting was held at the home of John Walker Ambrose April 1, 1856. The following year he was elected a supervisor of Richland County. He was known as a successful farmer and held an honored place in the community.

 

The children of John Walker and Salome (Sally as she was known) Kanable were:

Caroline Amanda 1824-1903 Mar. 1) John Counts 2) Ed Thayer

Hiram William 1826-1901 Mar. 1) Mary Ann Gifford 2) Caroline Austin

Jacob Kanable 1829-1904 Mar. Rachel Ewing

Susannah 1831-1850 Mar. Bedford Gifford

Maria 1833-1912 Mar. Levi Gochenaur

Mary Magdalena 1836-1909 Mar. Simon S. Blake (3)

Harrison 1839-1863 Died of wounds during Civil War. Buried at Gettysburg.

Samuel 1842-1928 Mar. 1) Rachel Bender 2) Emma Short

Elizabeth 1845-1924 Mar. Morton Weston

 

(8) James Blake and (9) Ann………………….

 

There has been found no record for the birth date of James Blake other than the 1830 Federal Census of Woodbury township, Bedford Co., PA. He and his third wife, Polly, appear to be living in the home of his son Burdine and at that time he was between 70 and 80 years of age. His will was probated in Bedford County Aug. 28, 1845. Place of burial is not known. No dates at all are known for Ann (9) except that the 1820 Census for Woodberry Twp., Huntingdon Co. places her in the age group 26-45. Her maiden name is not known but inasmuch as her first child was named Burdine (4), which is most unusual as a given name, it is believed that it might also be her family name. Ann died prior to 1834 when James wrote his will in which he names his wife, Polly.

 

James Blake appears in the 1790 Federal Census as a resident of Rapho Twp., Lancaster Co., PA. This township at that time lay along the northern boundary of the county and included the first low range of mountains of the Appalachian chain. Tax records list James Blake as a "founderer" which was an important and skilled job in the iron furnaces which dotted South Mountain from Berks County to the Maryland border. A high grade of iron ore was mined in this area from earliest days to the present time. As mines developed we find the "iron master" taking his skilled workers from place to place, so a study of the movement of the Blake family follows along the line of furnaces from the Mt. Hope Furnace Lancaster Co., where his record first appears, to the furnace in Drumore township near the Susquehanna river, thence to Maryland a back again to Pennsylvania in Franklin, Huntingdon and Blair Counties.

 

James and his first wife, Sarah (maiden name unknown), had five children according to the family record: Elizabeth, Thomas, James, Henry, Simon. There appears in the Salem Lutheran Church record of Lebanon, PA, the baptism of an Isaac Blakes on Nov. 30, 1798 whose parents were James Blakes and wife. No further record of this child has been found, neither do we find a census record for James for the year 1800 so it may be assumed that wife and child may have died and that he was living with his five children with relatives in Pennsylvania or Maryland. He must have remarried shortly after Sarah's death for Ann (9) is the mother of Burdine who was born Jan. 13, 1800. Another child of this marriage, Maria, died in 1804.

 

The census of 1810 finds James Blake in Drumore Township. In 1815 he buys land from George Withers, iron master, for a consideration of $4,208.00, sells some of it in 1823 as a resident of Woodbury Twp., Bedford Co., but he is listed as a non‑resident taxpayer in Drumore Twp., from 1816 to 1828. During this period he was probably working in the furnaces of Huntingdon Co. for we find him and his son, James in Woodbury township of that county for the 1820 census. These two Woodbury townships should not be confused with each other; Woodbury of Huntingdon Co., and North Woodbury of Bedford are now in Blair Co.

 

Deeds and Orphans Court Records show that James and his sons James, Simon and Burdine with their families were living in Blair County in the vicinity of Martinsburg by 1830. James's will provided that his wife, Polly, was to receive yearly rental or full possession of lot and two houses in Martinsburg as long as she remained a widow. At her death or marriage said property was to be sold and proceeds to be divided equally between "my three sons: James, Simon, and Burdine. Eldest son, James, to have farm on which I now reside, about 70 acres, also desk. Burdine to have 20 acres of woodland adjoining and lying between his other land and that of son Simon Blake, also silver watch. Son Henry Blake now of Kentucky to receive $1,000.00 to be paid him by Simon in consequence of farm sold to him by me, $150.00 annually until the whole is paid. Grand­son John Righart $100.00 to be paid by Simon one year after date. Grand­child Ann Blake daughter of son Thomas $50.00; grandchild Sarah Blake daughter of Thomas Blake $75.00 also my bureau." This will was probated Aug. 28, 1845. Polly died in August, 1876 at the age of 80.

 

The children of James and Sarah Blake were:

Elizabeth b. May 11, 1789 Mar. _______ Righart

Thomas b. Feb. 29, 1792; d. 1830 Mar. 1) Polly Mosier 2) Ann Morrison. Burdine was the executor of his will which is recorded in Washington Co., Md.

James b. Jan. 1793; d. 1859 Mar. Sarah

Henry b. Feb. 26, 1795

Simon b. Nov. 29, 1796; d. 1849 Mar. 1) Jane Wade May 28, 1816-; 2) Nancy

 

The children of James and Ann Blake were:

Burdine (4)

Maria d. 1804

 

(10) William Simpkins and (11) Ruth Walling.

 

Little has been found concerning the youth of William Simpkins. Early records of the family are found in St. Thomas's Parish at Garrison Fox Baltimore Co., MD, but later records show that the family was living across the Potomac River in Loudon Co., VA, at the time of his father's death in 1772. His age as given in the Chancery Court Paper #5677 indicate that he was born in 1755. His marriage to Ruth Walling (11), March 20, 1780 is on record at St. John's Lutheran Church, Hagerstown.

As there were numerous Simpkins relatives living in Washington Co. MD. It is possible that William and his mother returned there shortly after his father's death. His military service during the Revolutionary War shows that he enlisted in the 6th Maryland Regiment, 2 June 1778 a was discharged 1 April, 1779.

William purchased land from his father‑in‑law, James Walling, (22) located on Beaver Creek, southeast of Hagerstown. Both he and his wife appeared to give depositions in the Chancery Court Case brought by William Worley and his wife, Ann Walling, against her father in 1795. William served as constable for Upper Antietam Hundred from 1804 to 1820. He died March 14, 1831. No record has been found of the death of Ruth Walling Simpkins.

 

This is the order in which the children were named, not necessarily the order of birth. Their children as named in his will were:

John W.

Sarah Mar. Dec. 5, 1805 Henry Guyton

Ruth A.

Mary Mar. March 21, 1809 William Woltz

Elizabeth

Mazey Ann (5)

Rebecca

Darius.  According to his military record for service in the War of 18 he was born in 1785 in New Jersey and at the time of his enlistment, Jan. 23, 1813, he was single and by occupation a cordwainer (shoemaker). By Warrant #20301, he received 160 acres of bounty land. Mar. Roer Kadle, March 23, 1822.

Nancy  Mar. Sept. 11, 1817 John Spencer

Thomas, deceased. His daughter to be considered an equal heir with the rest of the children.

   

(12) Henry Ambrose and (13) Susan Walker.

 

Henry Ambrose was born June 26, 1762 probably in the Conococheague Valley in Pennsylvania and died in Ligonier Valley, Westmoreland Co., PA, Jan. 27, 1833. Susan Walker was born in Frederick Co., MD, Jan. 8, 1768 and died in Ligonier Valley Nov. 22, 1843. Both are buried in Brant's Cemetery south of Ligonier.

 

Henry and Susan raised a family of twelve children and most of them settled in western Pennsylvania. Three married into the Welshonse family and four married Bitners.

 

Their children were:

Jacob 1788 - 1872 Mar. Lena ________. Jacob settled in the vicinity of the present McConnellsburg and descendants still live there.

Elizabeth 1790 - 1862   Mar. Henry Welshonse

Margaret 1792 - 1847    Mar. Henry Johnson

Mary 1794 - 1843           Mar. George Welshonse

Catharine 1796 -            Mar. Mike Welshonse

John Walker (6)

Susan 1800 - 1843

Frederick 1802

Rachel 1804 -                 Mar. Daniel Bitner

William 1806 - 1868       Mar. Sarah Bitner

Martha 1808 -                Mar. Alexander Bitner

George 1811 -                 Mar. Martha Bitner

 

(14) Jacob Knable (Kanable) and (15) Magdalena Enos.

 

Jacob b. 1781; d. 1871 in Russiaville. Magdalena b. 1786; d. 1875 in Russiaville.

It was with Jacob that the final form of spelling the family name was reached. From the German Knobel it had gradually been altered to Knebel, Kneble, Knable; but when Jacob and Magdalena moved with their entire family from Somerset Co., Pa. to Indiana they changed the spelling to Kanable.

 

Jacob was born in 1781 in Washington Co., Md. shortly after his parents had arrived from Berks Co., Pa. He was about twelve years old when the family moved again into what is now Somerset Co., Pa. We do not have the exact date of his marriage to Magdalena Enos but it was probably in 1803 or early 1804. According to family tradition she was born in Somerset Co., her family having migrated from Northampton Co., Pa. several years before the 1790 Federal Census.

 

Jacob and Magdalena had seventeen children, two of whom died in infancy. Jacob farmed in summer and taught school during the winter. He served as Justice of the Peace for twenty years during which time he performed ninety‑nine marriages. Records of the family are found in Sanners Lutheran Church in Milford Township. They sold their farm in 1845 and moved to Clinton Co. , Indiana. They located in Honey Creek Township about 1‑1/2 miles west of the town of Russiaville.

 

George Woody describes the settlement as follows: "At the time of its first settlers the counties of Howard, Grant, Miami arid Clinton were owned by a band of Miami Indians under the chieftainship of Little Turtle. A French nobleman married a sister of Little Turtle. To this union was born a son who was named John Richardville who inherited the tribal hunting grounds. His name when given the French pronunciation sounded as though it was like Roosherville and with a little modification was later applied to the village." The Kanables arrived shortly after the purchase of this land by the U. S. government when it was opened for settlement.  

 

Both Jacob and Magdalena are buried in the Russiaville Cemetery.

 

Their children are as follows:

Salome (7) Mar. John Walker Ambrose

George 1806 ‑                Mar. Leah Wengert

John b. 1807 Mar.‑ 1) Catherine Bittner 2) Rebecca Younkin

Jacob b. 1809 Mar. Mary Tedrow

Elizabeth b. 1810 Mar. William Walter

Levi b. 1811 Mar. Barbara Schultz

Catherine 1813 unmarried in 1850

David b. 1815 Mar. 1) Elizabeth Baldwin 2) Nancy Idial

Mary b. 1816 Mar. William Weigle

Rebecca b. 1818 Mar. John Gribble

Samuel b. 1820 Mar. 1) Catherine Masters 2) Mary Lawrence 3) Polly Fritz

Noe b. 1821

Emma (Amy) b. 1822 Mar. Michael Schultz

Suzanne b. 1825 Mar. James Wiltrout

Mattie (Magdalena) b. 1826 Mar. John Brumbaugh

Phoebe b. 1829 Mar. Thomas Chandler

 

(16)          . . . . Blake and . . . (17 ).

 

The immediate ancestors of James Blake have not been identified. They were of English descent and family tradition has it that they descended from the family to which Admiral Blake belonged. Admiral Robert Blake was a naval hero under Oliver Cromwell. There is also the story that an ancestor, was attached to the court of Queen Caroline. Another story is that there is a Blake window in Winchester Cathedral. More recent and positive evidence is the recollection of Viola and Ida Blake of an English lawyer visiting in their home when they were children who was looking for a Blake descendant to return to England to participate in the settlement of an estate. Their father, Simon (2) was not interested. The West Virginia branch of the family have the story that several brothers came to this country before the Revolution to evangelize for the Methodists. This is credible as there is a strong religious bent in many of the lines ‑ almost to the point of fanaticism. Ministers, missionaries and devoted church workers are found in each generation. In general the family has been affiliated with the Methodist Church.

 

Blake families were found early in the settlement of America, notably in Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts and in the south - states of Virginia, Maryland and the Carolinas. Descendants of widely separated lines located on the Eastern Shore and Western Shore of Maryland, and today the name is common in the Baltimore area. The ancestry of the Rev. Dr. Eugene Carson Blake leads back to this area and the family claims descent from both William Blake, the poet, and the admiral's family (Admiral Blake himself was not married). Further search on the family might be made in Ireland as one branch was settled there on extensive estates during the time of Prince John in the twelfth century. It is possible that Robert Coleman, the iron master of Pennsylvania who came from Ireland brought the family over to this country, as they seemed to be skilled iron workers.

 

One county history in Maryland states that the James Blake family was of German origin which is incorrect. They may have settled among the Germans there and intermarried with them. Research indicates that James Blake if his father was not an immigrant, belonged to a Virginia or Maryland family.

 

(18)  ……… . Burdine and . . .(19 ).  

 

If Ann's maiden name was Burdine the geographical distribution of families of that name in 1790 was the same as that of Blake. There were a number in Virginia at that time. Variations in spelling of this name  are Burden, Berdine, Beardin, Berden, etc.

 

(20) John Simkins and (21) Mary Gorsuch.

 

There are many unanswered questions about the father of William Simpkins (10). We were not sure his name was John until we read the deposition of Mary Simpkins (21), William's mother in the Chancery Court Proceedings File #5677 in which she states she formerly lived in Loudon Co., Va. then we found that a John Simkins was deceased in 1772 in Loudon Co. and the inventory was signed by men whose names also appeared in the Court Case. Mary's age at the time of her deposition April 30, 1795 was sixty‑five.

 

In the Hall of Records, Annapolis, there is an original manuscript signed by Priscilla Simkin on a statement of accounts for John Simkin in Capt. James Brown's Co. in Queen Ann's County. He is listed as "common soldier", #90 in a total number of 120. The list was dated Feb. 22, 1748. Why should his mother be signing for his account in 1745 which apparently was not settled or recorded until 1748? Was he needed at home during this period of Indian uprising or was he under age? The Simkins land known as ''Simkins Repose" lay near the village of Garrison which was probably named for the old Indian fort erected there and was near the fairly new road which had been made leading from Baltimore to Frederick.

 

St. Paul's Church in Baltimore established a "chapel in the woods" at Garrison Forest which was known as St. Thomas's Parish. Simkins records appear in both but John's first children appear in the latter:

John b. 25 Dec. 1746 This is probably the John who became so prominent in early Allegany and Garrett County history. He had extensive land holdings, was associate judge of Allegany Co. in 1791 and was a Member of the House of Delegates for a number of years. Married first, Mary Jenifer; second, Elizabeth Lamar. Died in 1827.

Susannah b. 2 Feb. 1748.

Priscilla b. 29 Dec. 1750.

 

No further records appear in this parish so it is probable that the family was moving during the next few years into Frederick County or across the Potomac River into Loudon County.

William (10) b. 1754/5. It is probable that Dickinson (Dicker son, Dickeson) Simkins of Washington Co. and Cumberland, Md. is a brother who was born between 1750 and 1754 - the period for which we have no record.

 

According to his father's will (1739) John was the recipient of the residue of lands after the bequests to his sisters. In 1749 he began selling portions of his holdings. There are several entries at the Land Office up to 1767. Perhaps it was at this time he moved away from the Baltimore area where Mary's family lived. By the terms of her father's will she received one negress.

 

(22) James Walling and Mary Malott (23).

 

James Walling was born in 1727 probably in New Jersey and died in Washington County, Maryland in 1811. There seems to be no question about these dates which were obtained from the papers of Mary Long Dickerhoff in her application for membership in D. A. R. #146493, but many other items do not corroborate other reliable and official records. Anna Elizabeth Strock may have been the name of his first wife, but other records state that Mary Malott was his wife in 1754. By his own statement in 1795 in the Chancery Court Proceedings #5677 he was a widower and had no son at the time his daughter Ann was married in 1782; and his daughter Sarah Shimer said that he had five places and five daughters. Mary Malott died sometime before 1787 when he married Mary Mercy Stull.

 

The records which show that Mary Malott was the wife of James Walling are found in the Balance Book #1, folio 106, Frederick Co. , Md. on file in the Hall of Records in Annapolis. They also show that she was his wife in 1754 in Accounts Liber #36, folio 2,37 which was the settlement of the estate of Theodor Malott (46) wherein his daughter "Mary Walling wife of James Walling" is mentioned.

 

This James Walling is referred to in Frederick County deeds as James Walling, Jr. and also as Col. James Walling although the latter appears to be a courtesy title as the Daughters of the American Revolution gives his rating as Captain for his service in the Revolutionary War as a member of the Maryland Militia.

 

Most of the information about this .family was derived from the Chancery Court Proceedings, file #5677, in the Hall of Records, Annapolis. James's oldest daughter, Ann (Nancy), and her husband William Worley brought suit against her father in 1.793 for possession of the tract of land called "Old Fox Deceived" which he had promised her when she would marry. Her marriage apparently had displeased him so he had not transferred this property to her but had sold it to John Winders and Edward Rutter. Ann was the only one of his children who had remained with him until his last marriage. This document is revealing as to the relationships within the family.

 

His holdings were extensive and lay east and southeast of Hagerstown. In 1769 James Walling, Sr. (44) and James, Jr. disposed of seven tracts of land and apparently James, Sr. came to live with James, Jr., a situation which resulted in ill-feeling within the family, especially with his brother, Delashmutt.

 

Children mentioned in the Chancery Court Proceedings and in James' will are as follows although the order of birth is uncertain:

 

By Mary Malott:

Nancy (Ann) Mar. William Worley, son of Brace Worley June 18, 1782

Sarah b. 1756 Mar. John Shimer Mary Mar. Joseph Drake

Elizabeth Mar. James Williams

Ruth (11) b. 1763 Mar. William Simpkins (10) March 20, 1780

 

By Mary Mercy Stull:

James b. Aug. 31, 1789 d. March 12, 1823

Mercy b. March 28, 1791 Mar. William Reynolds Dec. 5, 1809

Eliza b. Sept. 23, 1797 Mar. Elie Woltz June 29, 1816, d. May 2, 1867. Buried in the Hagerstown Cemetery, but when the old cemetery was disposed of in 1885 the bodies were removed to a private lot in Williamsport.

(Note: In 1931 an inquiry was placed in the Boston Transcript for information concerning James Walling. "According to the family Bible record James Walling married first Mary Melot of Frederick County, Maryland, second, Mary Margaret Gregg‑, daughter of Robert Gregg of Allegany County, Md. He lived in the vicinity of Hughes Furnace." This reference can be found in the Boston Transcript file at the Sutro Library in San Francisco, California. No further information is given.)

(24) Frederick Ambrose and (25) Margaretha . . . ..  

 

Frederick Ambrose is presumed to be the son of Matthias Ambrose who settled in the Monocacy Valley, Md. in the 1730s, but if the latter came to this country as a widower, age 37, and had children by an early marriage, Frederick could be the son of Matthias, Jr. who settled in Ayr Township, Bedford Co. , Pa. about 1761. If not a son, then he was probably living with his brother there, doubtless helping him to make a home in the wilderness.

 

Frederick was born May 4, 1738 in Maryland. Margaretha, whose maiden name is unknown but believed to be Countryman, was born Jan. 1 1742. Birth dates of his children would indicate that they were married in 1762. It is possible that they were married in Maryland and lived there for a few years. Frederick County records show that he purchase land in 1764 and sold it again in 1768.

 

The Conococheague Valley in Ayr Township at this time was "the most remote stronghold of civilization in the primeval forest", however it was being settled by the migration of German Reformed families from Frederick County, Md. and the Scotch‑Irish from Lancaster Co., Pa. Indian raids still occurred which may have been the reason for Frederick and his family living in Maryland for their first years of married life.

 

That he was adventurous there is no question, for we find him moving on to Brothersvalley Twp. into the heart of the mountains as soon as it was opened up for sale. The conjecture that his wife's name was Margaretta Countryman is based on the fact that the two families were closely associated in both of these settlements and frequently intermarried. The Countrymans were in Brothersvalley Twp. before the Ambroses arrived. Frederick first appears on the tax list there in 1773.

 

The Sons of the American Revolution have accepted the listing in the Pennsylvania Archives of Frederick Am‑‑ ‑‑1 as his name for service as First Lieutenant in Capt. Henry Rhoad's Company recruited in Brothersvalley Township Dec. 10, 1777, but admission to the Daughters of the American Revolution is based on his service as a patriot as assessor of Bedford County, elected Oct. 12, 1780. I am indebted to Jane Ambrose (now deceased) of Grove City, Pa. for the use of her material and papers in qualifying for membership in the D.A.R.

 

The family moved to Ligonier Valley in Westmoreland County about 1790. The original homestead was still standing and occupied by Ambrose descendants when we visited it in 1949. Frederick and Margaretta are buried in Brant's private cemetery about three miles south of the town of Ligonier. Their stones are inscribed as follows: "Frederick Ambrose was born the 4th of May, 1738 and died the 29th of July, 1821. " Jane Ambrose noted that below this was a bowknot, rake, fork, sickle, hoe and spade. Above were 19 stars, a shield, and what seemed to be two eagles. The other stone read "Margaret Ambrose was born the 1st of January 1742 and died the 11th of September 1809. "

 

Their children were:

Henry (12)

John 1766 - 1839 Mar. Susan Countryman

Mary 1770 - 1787 Mar. Jacob Countryman

George 1778 - 1851 Mar. Margaret . . . . .

 

(26) George Walker and (27) Vineay ……….  

 

According to Williams' "Historical & Biographical Record of Frederick Co., Md. " vol. 2, p. 1271, George Walker was born before 1732 when the family came to America. He settled eventually in that part of Frederick County which is now Montgomery County. George died in 1775 from the bite of a dog resulting in hydrophobia. He left a wife and six children who are enumerated in the Census of 1776, Lower Potomac Hundred, Frederick Co., Md.

 

They are:

Male b. 1761

Benjamin b. 1763

Elizabeth b. 1765

Susanna (13) b. 1768

Jonathan b. 1772

George b. 1774

 

Robert Ferguson was administrator of the estate of George Walker and rendered a statement of his account 23 July 1775.

Another Walker family, also of English descent, came into the same area of Frederick County from Philadelphia. They may have been related but I have not been able to determine the relationship nor to learn the maiden name of George's wife, Vineay. It is likely that she took the children after her husband's death to live with his brother, Jacob, who had migrated earlier to Brothersvalley Township, Bedford Co., Pa. There Susan would have met Henry Ambrose whom she married ' ca. 1787. Both families were communicants of the Reformed & Lutheran Church in Berlin, Pa.

(28) Jacob Knable and (29) Marie Salome Cassell.

 

Jacob Knebel was born in 1753 in the Tulpehocken settlement of Berks Co., Pa. and baptised in the Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church in Stouchsberg there between Jan. 3rd and March 18th, 1753. His marriage to Marie Salome Cassell is also to be found in the same record for Nov. 12, 1776. She was born in Bethel township on Jan. 3, 1753 according to the record of Dr. E. C. Saylor of Berlin, Pa.

 

The only additional reference we found to Marie Salome in Berks Go. was that she was a sponsor at the baptism of Salome Schmid, daughter of Adam and Maria Elisabeth Schmid, Jan. 29, 1775 in St. Paul's (Klopp's) Reformed Church in Berks Co. It is quite possible that one of her sisters was the wife of Adam Schmid, at least there was a close relationship between the two families.

 

During the Revolution Jacob and Herman Knebel served in Capt. George Batdorf's Company. In 1779 or 1780 Jacob and his brother, George, migrated with their families to Washington Co., Md. and settled near Clear Spring in the Conococheague Valley, that lovely valley whose western vista was the first range of the Endless Mountain Germans from Pennsylvania and Frederick County, Md. had been among the first settlers there and had established St. Paul's Lutheran and Reformed Church in 1747. In the records of this church we find the birth and baptism of two of Jacob's children: John, b. Oct. 27, 1789, bapt. June 13, 1790 and Marie Elizabeth, b. June 21, 1791, bapt. Aug. 7, 1791.

 

In 1793 the Knables left Maryland for western Pennsylvania. They settled on a farm of 400 acres in Milford Township, now in Somerset County. Jacob became an elder in the Reformed & Evangelical Church. During this period the name of the family underwent several changes in spelling. When Jacob arrived in Maryland he was spelling it Knebel or Kneble; in the church records of Milford Township it became Knabel or Knable.

 

Salome's death date is not known other than that she died before Jacob. Jacob had disposed of his real estate by articles of agreement with his son Jacob, Jr. (14) ten years before his death in 1823.

 

Their children were:

Maria Magdalena b. 1778 in Berks Go., Pa. Mar. George Friend

Jacob (14) b. 1781,

Sarah Mar. Jacob Harbaugh, son of Caspar Harbaugh

John No record other than his birth in Clear Spring, Md.

Eva Mar. Peter Dull

Maria Elizabeth Mar. John Haines

Catharine Mar. Henry Schaff

Christina Mar. Jacob Ankeny

Margaret Mar. John Pile

 

(30) George Enos and (31) Ann Guin.

 

Records on this family are somewhat confusing. Under Lynn Township in Montgomery's "History of Lehigh County, Pennsylvania" appears the story of George Enos who was captured 'at the age of fifteen by the Indians but later escaped and returned home. This establishes the date of his birth as about 1742, nine years before Philip Enos (60) with his wife and one child arrived in Philadelphia from Zweibrucken. The story gives Ferdinand as his father's name, but no Ferdinand Enos appears in any tax or church record of that time. Philip and George Enos are the only ones who appear on the tax list between 1762 and 1793.

 

The marriage of George Ennis and Ann Guin on Dec. 16, 1766 at Old Swede's Church in Philadelphia is recorded in the Pennsylvania Archives, Series II, vol. 8, p. 373. The marriage is further corroborated by the Letter of Administration #15 of the estate of George Enos, July 1, 1818, Somerset County in which Ann Enos renounces her right to the administration in favor of John Enos. She is still living at the time of the 1820 census and is listed as Nancy (Ann) Eanes, widow.

 

George added to the land inherited from his father in Lynn Township, then in Northampton County, and was taxed for 198 acres from 1786 to 1793. The 1790 census shows a George Enos in Northampton County as head of a household of four boys under sixteen and five females.

 

There also appears a George Enos in Washington Twp. of Fayette County with a household of four males over sixteen, four under sixteen and two females. It is my guess that the latter was more than one family, perhaps relatives or neighbors had migrated to this section together to locate land and build a home before bringing the rest of the family. George, Jr. now about twenty and doubtless married would not come until after 1793. He and Elizabeth bought their land from Henry Zook in 1799, so the 1800 census finds the entire family with many of their former neighbors living in what is now Somerset County.

 

It is not certain how many children George and Ann had but there were a number of girls. The following have been identified:

George, Jr., wife Elizabeth

John Mar. Elizabeth Heinbaugh

Andrew Mar. Katherine

Elizabeth Mar. John Bender, 1802

Mary Mar. Daniel Sechler

Catherine 1784 - 1824 Mar. Daniel Heinbach

Magdalena (15) 1786 - 1875 Mar. Jacob Knable, Jr. (14)

 

The Pennsylvania Archives records the service of George Enes from Northampton County as of 15 Nov. 1780. "6th Battalion, Col. Hennrich Geiger, Capt. George Shmaters, 8th class. 'Ofhicier to marchd in the 6 class. george enes, Lef. ' " Series V, Vol. 8, pp. 458, 511 Also there is a Benjamin Ennes. 1st. Bat. , Capt. Jayne's Co. at Brunswick, July 9, 1776. 2nd Lt. ibid. p. 19; 6th Bat. Northampton Mil. ,./ 4th Co., May 14, 1778. 2nd. Lt. ibid. p. 431; 6th Bat., N. Co. Mil., Col. Stroud, Capt. Johannes Van Etten, 2nd. Lt. Benjamin Ennis. ibid. 425

 

(40)       (40) John Simkins and (41) Priscilla……….

 

John may have been the son of Vincent Sim(p)kins who is mentioned by Savage as an early settler of Stamford, Conn. who died before 1671. So after his death his son John sold his portion of his estate and "removed" from the community. There is no proof that this is the John who appear; in the Baltimore County, Maryland tax list but it is likely as John, the son of Pilgrim Simpkins, lived in Boston during this period. See Simkins family (80).

 

We find that John is a taxable on the north side of the Patapsco River, now the city of Baltimore, from 1701 through 1706. They were member: of St. Paul's parish and some of their records appear in both of St. Paul's and its 'church in the woods', St. Thomas's in Garrison Forest. The latter was probably near John's land grant obtained by him in 1717. This 100 acres was known as "Simkins Repose" which was increased by another 100 acres in 1734.Further land known as "Mt. Organ" is mentioned in his will.

 

The will of John Simpkins was written March 14, 1738 and probated April 3, 1739. In it he mentions his wife, Priscilla, daughters Avrilla Hammond, Mary Hawkins, Hannah Briant, Elizabeth Harryman, son John and granddaughters Rachel Simkins and Priscilla Hawkins. Information given in church records is as follows:

Ebarilla Mar. Laurence Hammond June 21, 1734

Mary b. Aug. 6, 1716 Mar. John Hawkins June 12/13, 1733

John (20)

Hannah Mar. Briant

Elizabeth Mar. Robert Harryrman Jan. 24; 1733

 

(42) Thomas Gorsuch and (43) Jane Ensor.

 

Thomas Gorsuch was born between 1678 and 1680 probably in Baltimore County; died in 1774 (his will was written Sept. 23, 1774, probated Nov. 4, 1774); married Jane Ensor (43) Aug. 19, 1714. She was born ca. 1690. The date of her death is not known.

 

Thomas inherited no land from his father but received "Maiden's Choice" from his father's sister and acquired "Darley Hall" from John Ensor, his brother‑in‑law. His will also mentions "Friendship", "Ensor's Choice", and "Loveless's Addition". His children as named in his will were:

Lovelace b. ca 1715; d. 1783

Thomas b. ca 1720; d. 1777

John b. 1730/31; d. Aug. 7, 1808; Mar. Elizabeth Merryman March 11, 1755 Elizabeth b. 1718; Mar. William Kelley June 17, 1740

Mary (21) Mar. John Simpkins (20)

 

(44) James Walling, Sr. and (45)                             .

 

The record of James Walling's birth is found in the Vital Statistics of Providence, Rhode Island as of April 2, 1705 although the family was living in Salem County, New Jersey at that time. We have neither the name of his wife, the date of their marriage nor their death dates. There were several Walling families in New Jersey, but this was the only James whose date fits and he was mentioned in his father's will in 1724 together with brothers who are likewise found in Maryland records.

 

In 1733 we find James with two of his brothers, Elisha and William, on the tax list of Monocacie Hundred, Prince George's Co. , Md. (now Frederick County). James was probably married before migrating to Maryland. He began buying land which had just been opened for sale.  

The earliest record of his holdings is that of the purchase of "Dumb Hall", 50 acres which was surveyed for him in 1739 and patented in 1744. It was located in the wilderness about seven miles southeast of Hagerstown on the south side of Beaver Creek near the mouth.

 

Much of his land was disposed of in 1769. Apparently his wife was not living and he went to live with his son James, an arrangement that did not prove satisfactory. It is not known how many children James had but among them were:

James Jr. (22)

John

Delashmutt b. 1740

 

(46) Theodor Malott and (47) Catherine                          .

 

The Daughters of American Colonists' Lineage Book, vol. 10, p. 104 states that Theodores Malott was born in France, was a landed proprietor

in Washington County, Maryland and died there in 1751. We know nothing more of him than the mention of his family in his will written Jan. 17,

1750, proved March 19, 1751. The settlement of his estate in 1754 mentions his wife, Catherine and children:

Peter

Benjamin

Elizabeth

John

Catherine

Theodorus

Mary (23) wife of James Walling (22)

 

(48)  Matthias Ambrose and (49) ………….

 

Among the passengers imported on the ship "Pleasant" and qualified at Philadelphia on Oct. 11, 1732 was Mathias Ambrose, age 37. He signed the ship's list himself in German script at the Court House which indicated that he was probably of the upper class and had received an education. It is likely that he was a widower accompanied by small children (not all ship's lists mentioned wives or children) as later Maryland records mention adult Ambroses for whom no immigrant record is given.

 

The name itself had many variations and believed by Glenn Abbey to have been originally derived from the French d'Amboise. Maryland and Pennsylvania records have the following forms: Ambrosey, Ambrous, Ambrosa, Ambrosia, Ambrosius, Ambroise, Ambroser.

 

Nothing is known of Matthias until he is established in the German settlement on the Monocacy River in Frederick County, Maryland in 1743 He is living on the land surveyed for Adam Spongh where he operates a mill on Captain's Creek. This tract is called "Gap" and is located on the eastern slope of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the town of Thurmont. The road which winds through the 'gap! leads to Camp David, President Eisenhower's mountain retreat, and to Hagerstown. Subsequent lands acquired by Matthias were known as "Arnold's Chance" and "Arnold's Delight".

 

The settlement on the Monocacy River was established by a colony of Germans on their way from Pennsylvania to Virginia between the years 1730 and 1734. They were enticed by the Hon. Daniel Dulaney who offered 200 acres to every family who would settle in western Maryland for a rent of eight shillings per year. (See Walling, James #44). Matthias was actively interested in establishing a church on the Monocacy. He was a member of the Reformed congregation and he lies buried in the cemetery adjoining Apple's Church, to which he bequeathed three pounds in his will which was proved in 1784. The stone was barely discernable when I read it: 10 Fe 1695 - 10 Au 1784.

 

Dr. Grace Tracy believes Mathias' wife was Catherine Spongh (Spohn). Land records of Frederick County show Catherine as the name of his wife. No records have been found which give the birth dates of his older children but the Monocacy Church has the birth record of Maria Barbara on January 24, 1743.

 

The children of Matthias Ambrose were:

Matthias Jr. Mar. Barbara __________, Lived in Ayr Twp., Bedford Co., Pa.

Jacob Mar. Catharine _________

Henry

Frederick (24)

Maria Barbara

Catharine  Mar. Daniel Weller, son of John Weller

 

(52) Francis Walker and (53)                            . 

 

The only information I have been able to locate on Francis Walker comes from Williams, "Historical & Biographical Record of Frederick Co., Md. ", vol. 2, p. 1271. It states that the Walker family came originally from England in the 16th century and fled to Holland because of religious persecution. In 1732 Francis Walker left Holland for the new world where he settled in Prince George' (now Frederick) County, Maryland. He was accompanied by three sons: Jacob, who removed from Frederick Co., to Somerset Co. Penna. about 1771; George who settled in that part of Frederick County which is now included in Montgomery County where he died of hydrophobia from the bite of a dog; and Francis. The family was generally Reformed or Methodist but Francis, Jr. married a Roman Catholic.

 

There may be a relationship with the Isaac Walker of Prince George Co. An article from the Baltimore Evening Sun of Oct. 23, 1938 found in the Enoch Pratt Library states that Isaac was one of three brothers who fled to America by way of France after the Battle of Cullodon. He called his new home Toaping Castle after his old home in Scotland. It remained in the Walker family until purchased by the U. S. government for its Greenbelt Housing Project in 1934.

 

(56) Christopher Knebel (Knoebel) and Catharine Walborn (57).  

 

The English-speaking clerks of Philadelphia apparently had a difficult time understanding and writing Christopher's name (as he was unable to write it himself and only made his mark) when he arrived at that port on the ship "Charming Nancy" Nov. 9, 1738. The German form was Knobel but it is spelled variously Knabel, Abel, Creble, Knubel in Strassburger‑Hinke's "Pennsylvania German Pioneers". He gives his age as twenty on this date.  

 

Our next record is that of his marriage to Catharina Walborn, daughte of Christian Walborn (114), one of the first settlers on the Tulpehocken in Berks County, Pennsylvania. They were married on Dominica Judica Sunday (two Sundays before Easter) in 1744 at the Christ Lutheran (Tulpehocken) Church near the present‑day Stouchsberg. At that time he was living in Bethel Township probably on the land which was deeded to him by the Thomas Fraeme heirs Feb. 13, 1755. Its location is just east of the Berks-Lebanon County line on a stream bridged by old U. S. highway #22. It was in this area that the Indians descended from the mountain passes to harass and massacre the settlers at the beginning of the French and Indian War.

 

Christopher was naturalized by affirmation before the Supreme Court of Philadelphia in 1767, and at that time signed his name as Stophel Knebell. Stophel is an old nickname for Christopher. He died in 1794. His will provided for his wife Catherine and directed that the remainder of his estate be divided equally among his eight children.

 

Catharine Walborn was born in 1722 in the Schoharie Valley, New York before the German migration to Pennsylvania took place. Rev. Lochman of Zoar's Evangelical Lutheran Church records her death thus: "Died May, 1807, Bethel Township, Berks Co., Pa. Catherine Knebel, daughter of Christian Walborn and wife Elizabeth. Married Christopher. They had nine children of whom seven survive. Her husband preceded her in death thirteen years and she has been a widow since. Died of old age at 85.”

 

The children of Christopher and Catharine Knebel:

George Peter 1745 - 1818 Married Catharine Gerhardt Dec. 7, 1773

Herman Dec. 16, 1747; July 21, 1820 Married 1) Catharine Batdorf; 2) Eva Margaret Emmert

Catherine Elizabeth b. Sept. 25, 1748

Jacob (28)

Christian b. April 24, 1755; d. Aug. 1825 Mar. Barbara       

Maria Margaret b. Aug. 16, 1758 Married John Gebhardt March 19, 1782.

Christopher b. 1760 Married Anna Marie Hautz June 5, 1781

Eva b. 1763

Christina Married John Philip Gerhardt May 17, 1774

 

(58) John Adam Kassel (Kasel, Cassel) and (59) Elizabeth                     .

 

Two men arrived at the port of Philadelphia, Sept. 23, 1741 on the ship "Marlborough", one, John Adam Kasel, a blacksmith, the other, Philip Cunz, a shepherd from Nohefelden. Had they known each other before this voyage to America? We do not know, but thirteen years later Adam was appointed administrator of Philip's estate and the court record describes him as a "near relation of the deceased". This leads us to believe that perhaps Adam's wife may have been a member of the Kunz (Kuntz, Cunz) family; otherwise we know only that her name was Elizabeth.  

John Adam Kassel was 22 when he arrived in America. He was not the first of the name to settle in Pennsylvania. As early as 1680 the family of Abraham Cassel, Mennonites, joined the settlement in Germantown then moved west into Lancaster County. Perhaps Adam was related to this branch and remained in Germantown a few years before moving on to take up land in Berks County at the foot of the Blue Mountains. Although this relationship seems likely I have found no proof that they were connected.

Throughout his lifetime Adam signs his name Kasel or Kassel, but soon public and church records adopt the English form of the name - Cassel or Castle. Adam appears on the tax list from 1754 to 1782 in Bethel Township. He owned land in the Fraeme tract which was transferred to Jacob Geyer as of April 30, 1782. He signed the "Memorial Against Calling A Convention" in 1779 together with many of his German neighbors.

 

It is not known when he was married nor how many children he had. Probably most of them were girls and the records lost to other names.

Maria Elizabeth Cassel was confirmed at the age of sixteen in 1761 in the Trinity Reformed Church near Myerstown. She married Adam Schmidt and her

sister Salome was sponsor for their daughter, Salome, baptized Jan. 29, 1775, according to K1opp's Reformed Church record.

Marie Salome (29)

Catherine Elizabeth b. Oct. 5, 1754; bap. March 24, 1755. As she and Philip Schmitt appear together as sponsors for the baptism of Adam Schmidt's fifth child it is likely that they were subsequently married.

Maria Barbara Cassel and Peter Raiber were married March 30, 1760 according to Host Reformed Church records. It is possible she belongs to this family.

 

On Aug. 2, 1774 a marriage was recorded in Christ Lutheran Church records which reads as follows: "John Adam Cassell, Bethel, son of John Adam Cassel and Elizabeth Gethel, Hanover, Lancaster Co. , daughter of Peter Gethel. " Whether this is the son of John Adam, the immigrant, or a second marriage of John Adam himself has been a problem. I incline to the latter. No further record appears for a John Adam, Jr; the name entirely disappears from Berks County records after 1785 but reappears in Letterkenny Township, Franklin County in 1786; and the will of Adam Kasel in 1790 in that county is signed in German script with the same spelling as used at Philadelphia.

 

The 1790 census lists Elizabeth Castle as head of the family and the approximate ages of the two children indicate that they were children of the 1774 marriage. The Letter of Administration # 158 mentions his son ‑in‑law (or brother‑in‑law) Jacob Knable (28). The total appraisement of his estate was 567 pounds.

 

Adam Cassel is listed as one of the Berks County soldiers who fought in the American Revolution under Capt. Wolf. He with many others from Berks County began the trek west after the war and settled in Franklin County. His children according to his will who survived him were:

Jacob under sixteen in 1790. He is on the tax list of Letterkenny Twp. beginning in 1797 and continuing to 1827. He is listed as a storekeeper and after 1803 as a justice of the peace.

Peggy Age uncertain, to receive 100 pounds in five years time to commence in 1797.

 

(60) Philip Enos and (61)                              .

 

Dr. Friederich Krebs reports from the German records that "Philib Enes of Cleeburg leaves with wife and one child for America. " The ship on which they sailed, the "Janet", arrived at Philadelphia Oct. 7, 1751. Philip signed the ship's list himself in German script.

 

The Enos family was undoubtedly Huguenot from the province of Hainault, now in Belgium. They are listed as emigrants from Zweibrucken to America, but another branch went to England before coming to Connecticut in 1648. This line traces its history back to the city of Mons in 1463 when the name was spelled Henno.

 

Philip must have gone immediately to the frontier across the Blue Mountains by way of the Schuylkill River. He was living in a four‑mile district called Brunswick in the vicinity of Fort Franklin at the time of the Indian wars. Most of the residents of this area fled to the south side of the mountains at the time of the Indian uprising, but Philip Annes does not appear on the tax list of Lynn Township until 1762. The name is spelled various ways in the tax list where he is named from 1762 to 1773; Enes, Annis, Ennes, Enes. In 1767 he was taxed for 22 acres of clear land and 78 acres of woodland. Philip and George Enos were early members of Jacob's Church (Reformed) in the nearby village of Jacksonville. Its early records have been destroyed. Philip's name is found in the records of the Reformed and Lutheran Church of Lowhill Township in 1769.

 

We have no record of his wife's name. There were probably several children but the only one of which we have record is:

George (30)

 

(80) Simpkins Family.

 

The first of the Simpkins family to arrive in America sometime before 1634 was Nicholas Simkins from Burcot, Northamptonshire, England. He is listed in Boston records as "gent. tailor ‑ draper". His occupation was in great demand during the colonial period so we find his name in several town records: Dorchester, Cambridge, Yarmouth Barnstable and Boston. He was a member of the Military Company of Massachusetts which was organized in 1634 to guard against attack. This was later to be known as the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of Massachusetts, the oldest military organization in the United States. Nicholas was also the first captain of the Castle, a fortification built on Castle Island in Boston Harbor.

 

Descent from Nicholas and his wife, Isobel, is unclear although the line through his son, Pilgrim, is well established and centers in New England. Among other children there was a son Nicholas who was one of the first settlers on Oyster Bay, Long Island, in 1653. Where Vincent, presumed to be the father of John (40), fits into the family relationship is not known. According to one story three brothers came to Plymouth in the third expedition after the Mayflower, James settled in Plymouth, Vincent in Stamford, Conn. and another (?) in Bedford County, NY. Regardless of who the father of John was, the family was closely allied with those New England Families, principally from Lynn, who settled first on Long Island then migrated to South Jersey ca. 1700. Public records show relationship between those of the name in Maryland and New Jersey in later generations.

 

(84) Charles Gorsuch and (85) Sarah Cole.

 

Charles was the sixth child of Rev. John and Anne (Lovelace) Gorsuch. He was born in Walkern Parish, County Hertford, England and baptized Aug. 25, 1642. Shortly after the death of his father the family came to Lancaster Count, Virginia. In 1657 he chose his brother, Richard, as his guardian. He became a member of the Society of Friends, and it has been suggested that persecution in Virginia led this group to migrate to Maryland. Charles was one of the first patentees in 1662 to land which is now included in the city of Baltimore. He acquired fifty acres on Whetstone Point, now the location of Ft. McHenry.

 

In 1664 he married Sarah Cole (85), only daughter and heiress of Thomas and Priscilla Cole, thereby acquiring more land: Cole's Harbor and Maiden's Choice. For this marriage he was called to account by the Tred Avon Meeting for "taking a wife contrary to the truth". We do not have Sarah's birth date. She died some time in the latter part of 1689. Charles married (2) Ann Hawkins in 1690.

 

At one time Charles Gorsuch owned 5000 acres in Baltimore County but he sold or mortgaged most of it before 1691. A street in Baltimore is named for him. He died intestate and Letters of Administration were granted June 27, 1716.

 

His children by Sarah Cole were:

John b. 1678, d. ca. 1733

Thomas (42 )

Charles b. ca. 1686, d. ca. 1746

 

(86) John Ensor and (87) Jane                           .  

 

The name Ensor is derived from Edensor in County Derby, England. It is also spelled Edsor and Edser. John's birth date is not known.

 

Williams in "History of Frederick County, Maryland" says that Luke and John Ensor emigrated from England and settled near Cockeysville, Md. They were planters and owned part of the land on which the city of Baltimore now stands. John is on the tax list in June, 1692 for land on the north side of Patapsco Hundred, and again in 1694 on the south side of Back River Hundred.

 

John was married ca. 1690 to Jane, maiden name unknown, who died after 1700. He married (2) Elizabeth Enloe, widow of Abraham Enloe. Children by Jane were:

Jane (43) Mar. Thomas Gorsuch

John b. ca. 1693; d. April 10, 1771.Owner of Darley Hall

 

(88) Thomas Walling and (89) Sarah Elwell.

 

Thomas was the oldest child of his father who had been a resident in the Providence Plantations since shortly after the establishment of the colony by Roger Williams. Apparently he took over the management of the farm after his father's death in 1674 which left a family of seven children all under age, including Thomas. Many of the residents of Providence Plantations fled from the Indians to more settled communities during this period. Town records of Aug. 14, 1676 say of Thomas Walling that he was "one of those who staid and went not away" in King Philip's War and so had a share in the disposition of Indian captives whose services were sold for a term of years. In the unsettled years ahead he remained loyal to the King of England and took the oath of allegiance in May 1682.

 

Thomas was married to Sarah Elwell (89) of East Greenwich May 20, 1695. She was born Aug. 24, 1676 in Gloucester, Mass. , the daughter of Thomas Elwell. They remained in Providence for the birth of their first two children then joined her parents who were already part of the New England settlement in Salem County, New Jersey. Thomas still held the land bequeathed to him by his father, but he deeds it to his son, Thomas of Cohansey, Jan. 26, 1719. It consisted of 140 acres about three miles west of Providence on the north side of the river near Weybosset Hill. His will, dated May 19, 1724 was probated Oct. 22, 1724 in Salem County, N. J. Sarah survived him but the date of her death is uncertain. His children as mentioned in his will and the records of Providence were:

Abigail b. March 5, 1698

Thomas b. Feb. 2, 1699

John b. June 20, 1700

William b. Nov. 21, 1701

Mary b. Sept. 8, 1703

James (44) b: April 2, 1705

Samuel b. March 14, 1707

Elisha b. July 26, 1708

Joseph b. April 30, 1709

Deborah b. June 22, 1714

Rebecca b. June 22, 1717

 

(112) George Knoebel.  

 

The only reference we have to the father of Christopher Knoebel is the church record of the marriage of Christopher and Catherine Walborn in which Christopher is identified as "the legitimate single son of George Knoebel of Germany."

 

(114) Christian Walborn and (115) Catherine Elizabeth Batdorf.

 

Christian was one of the six children of the Walborn family which came from the Palatinate and settled eventually in the Schoharie Valley, N. Y. late in 1712 or early 1713. His birthdate was ca. 1696 so he was a sturdy young man who helped his father in the rugged trip from Living­ston Manor to Schoharie and during that first year of bitter struggle for survival in their new home. Catherine Elizabeth was probably much younger than Christian but she had shared the same experiences, as the Batdorfs and Walborns lived in the same village in Schoharie.

 

Because the Palatines were unfamiliar with the language and were ignorant of the laws regarding land grants, difficulties arose. Advantage was taken of them and they felt unjustly treated by the colonial government. In 1722 Governor Sir William Keith of Pennsylvania, while attending an Indian conference in Albany, became impressed with the plight of the settlers. He invited them to come to Pennsylvania. As a result fifteen families accepted the invitation and in 1723 cut a way through the mountains to the headwaters of the Susquehanna River. They made canoes and rafts to float their belongings and the women and children down the winding river while the men with their cattle went on foot along the banks. After several hundred miles and weary weeks of travel they reached the mouth of the Swatara river near Middletown. They followed its course northeast to the foot of the Blue Mountains where some of them settled in Bethel township now in Lebanon County. Among these were the Batdorf family. Others continued on to the Tulpehocken Valley, and it was here near Myerstown where Christian Walborn settled. Andreas Walborn, his brother, is recorded as, arriving in 1723, probably to select land for his father. Among the petitioners for a road from Oley to the Tulpehocken settlement in 1728 is Adam Walborn so we may assume that the entire family had arrived in the valley by that time.

 

Friendly Indians had guided the Palatines to this area of forests, many streams and rich limestone soil. This was the good farming land for which they had been seeking ‑ it was like their fatherland. William Penn had not yet purchased this area from the Indians so there was delay in obtaining title to their land. Christian secured his tract of 176 acres on Nov. 2, 1739 from Caspar Wistar for a consideration of 70 pounds, 8 shillings. It is recorded in Lancaster County Court House under a misspelling of his name: Christian Walbone.

 

A religious people, the Germans established a church wherever they lived. Lutherans and Reformed shared houses of worship; in Tulpehocker there were also Moravians. There was often strife in these groups. Finally in 1743 the Lutherans built their own church near Stouchsberg in Berks County. Christian, originally a member of Rieth's Church became a charter member of the new church, and in 1748 was elected president of the Church Council of which Conrad Weiser and Martin Batdorf were also members.

 

We do not know when Catherine Elizabeth died, but Christian was a widower when he wrote his will in 1764. It was probated Dec. 11, 1769. The burial place of both is not known. Children as named in his will were:

John Adam Mar. in 1744 to Euphrosina Kasterzen

Eva Mar. Lorentz Houtz

Catherine (57) b. 1722; Mar. 1744 to Christopher Knoebel

Margreta Mar. June 14, 1748 to George Conrad

Christina Mar. John Albert

Margreta Elizabeth Mar. John Kurtz

Martin b. April 15, 1733; d. Mar. 2, 1816; Mar. Marie Margareta

Leyin.

Hermanus b. March 1735; d. March 16, 1813; Mar. Catherine Brucker.

Christian

Mary Elizabeth d. before 1764; Mar. Peter Smith

 

(168) John Gorsuch and (169) Anne Lovelace.  

 

John was born ca. 1600 probably in Ormskirk parish, Lancashire where early records of the family are found. Records give 1628 as the year of his marriage to Anne Lovelace which would be a year after her father Sir William Lovelace, was killed at the siege of Grolle in Holland.

 

At the age of seventeen she was the eldest of a family of eight children. John was a clergyman and we do not know what parish he served during the birth of his first four children, but in 1632 he was instituted rector of Walkern parish, Herts. He lived there for ten years during which time six more children were added to the family. He was an active Royalist and was finally ejected from his parish by Parliament. Anne probably lived in hiding with relatives for the birth of her next child, Lovelace. John was finally killed in 1647 fleeing from his enemies. It was during this period that Anne's brother, Richard, was committed to Gatehouse Prison for his support of King Charles I.

 

Anne had been raised in a family that was interested in the colonization of the New World; both her grandfathers had been members of the Virginia Company and her father had willed her his shares in the Company. At the urging of her brother, Francis, she took her seven children and set sail for Virginia in 1650. A courageous venture which she did not long survive as she died in 1652 in Lancaster County, Va. 

Their children were:

John b. 1630

Daniel b. 1628-29

William b. 1631-32, Mar. Oct. 12, 1660 to Catherine Morgan

Johanna

Katherine b. Nov. 26, 1633 Mar. William Whitby

Robert b. Nov. 19, 1635

Richard b. April 19, 1637

Anna b. March 13, 1638‑9 Mar. 1) Thomas Todd, 2) David Jones, 3) John Oldton

Elizabeth b. May 13, 1641, Mar. ______ Powell

Charles (84) b. Aug. 25, 1642 Mar. Sarah Cole (85)

Lovelace Mar. 1) Rebecca Preston, 2) Hannah Walley

Frances b. after 1642

 

(170) Thomas Cole and (171) Priscilla                          .

 

Liber 1 of the Maryland Land Records gives several references to Thomas Cole, age 34, in 1652 and wife, Priscilla. They first settled on the Severn River in Ann Arundel County, then in 1668 acquired 550 acres on the north side of the Patapsco River in Baltimore County. It was known as Cole's Harbour and is now within the downtown section of the city of Baltimore from Sharp Street east. Early land records mention a Robert, John and William Cole who may have been brothers and who came to Maryland with Thomas. Priscilla was living in 1675 and Thomas in 1695 as witnessed by notes recorded in Maryland Chancery Notes.

Sarah (85) is mentioned in Gorsuch references as being the "sole heiress" of Thomas Cole.

 

(176) Thomas Walling and (177) Mary Abbott.

 

There is some disagreement as to the parentage of Thomas Walling but there is no question that the first of the name to arrive in New England were Ralph and Joyce Wallen who came to Plymouth in 1623 on the ship "Ann". Some descendants trace their line through Thomas to them, but others indicate that Thomas was born in England about 1630 and on coming to New England settled in Roger Williams' colony at Providence.

 

In a letter Roger Williams wrote concerning Thomas Jan. 22, 1651 reference is made to his conduct in relation to Mary Abbott who was an orphan at the time. They were subsequently married and Thomas was admitted as a townsman in 1651. Mary died in 1669 and Thomas married Margaret Colwell (Caldwell), daughter or widow of Robert Colwell.

 

Thomas became a freeman of Providence in 1655; a commissioner in 1657; and a surveyor of highways in 1660. He drew lot 72 in a division of land among the proprietors of Providence in 1665. He died on July 19, 1674 and his will gives us the names of his children:

 

By Mary Abbott:

Thomas (88)

Ger shorn Abigail d. 1677, unmarried

James d. April 4, 1753 Lived in Providence, Smithfield, R.I.

By Margaret Colwell:

William b. May 20, 1670 1 twins

John b. May 20, 1670

Cornelius b. Oct. 25, 1672

 

(178) Thomas Elwell and (179) Sarah Bassett.  

 

The Elwell family was living in Gloucester, Mass. at the time of Thomas's birth Nov. 12, 1654. Sarah Bassett was born in 1654 in Lynn, one of the seacoast towns where the Elwells had formerly lived. Thomas and Sarah were married Nov. 23, 1675. They remained in Gloucester for the birth of five children which are registered there. Perhaps it was shortly after the death of his father in 1683 that Thomas migrated with his family to Cumberland County, New Jersey where relatives and friends from Lynn and Salem were already established.

 

He bought land of Benjamin Acton and in the deed he is mentioned as "late of New England, now of Salem Towne and County, weaver. " The muster role of the Cumberland Co. Militia in 1715 listed all males subject to military duty. It included Samuel Elwell, Sgt. , Thomas Elwell, Insigne, John, and Will Elwell, all sons of Thomas, and his son‑in‑law, Thomas Walling.

 

The will of Thomas Alewell, Sr. shows him to be a carpenter of Pilegrove, Salem Co., N.J. It was dated April 25, 1706 and in addition to his wife, Sarah, mentions his seven children. Thomas Walling was to have the sixteen acres "where he now liveth and which were purchased of me."

Children:

Sarah (89) Mar. Thomas Walling

Thomas b. April 26, 1678 Mar. Susannah

Mary b. March 13, 1679‑80 Mar. ______ Nickolds

William b. April 8, 1682 Mar. Ann _______

Elizabeth b. May 30, 1684

John Mar. Rachel Garrison

Samuel b. ca. 1688 Mar. ________ Townzon

 

(228)  John Adam Walborn and (229) Anna Elisabeth.  

 

Prior to their emigration to the New World the Walborn family lived in that section of the Rhine Valley known as the Palatinate. Church records of the family are found in Wiesbach-Nassau, and it is said that John Adam rented a farm from Egydius Sartorius.  

 

At that time the whole of central Europe had been a battlefield for as long as anyone living could remember. Under Louis XIV of France taxation became unbearable and southwest Germany was plundered and stripped of its resources. In the winter of 1708‑1709 nature also seemed to conspire against the inhabitants. It was so cold that fruit trees and vines were killed with frost; rivers were ice‑bound and even the 'sea froze along the coasts. All hope was gone for those who tilled the land. For some time Queen Anne of England had been welcoming Protestant refugees from France and William Penn was urging the people of the Rhine Valley to come to Pennsylvania. The response was overwhelming. Thousands left Germany bound for England with the promise of land in America. Transportation from England to America proved inadequate so London became a city surrounded by over 13, 000 refugees.

 

John Adam Walborn with wife, Anna Elizabeth, and six children were part of this throng who suffered privation and delay in reaching their destination in New York. These immigrants were supposed to work the pine forests to secure tar for the English navy. Upon arrival in the New World the Walborns were settled on the east bank of the Hudson River in Livingston Manor. Putting farmers to work in the forests was an unprofitable venture and the colonial government found it necessary to provide subsistence for the settlers. Subsistence lists were preserved and for the years 1710 and 1712 the name of Hans Adam Walborn with wife and six children appears. In 1711 he volunteered for the expedition against the French and served with. General Nicholson at Montreal.

 

Finally the New York enterprise broke down completely and the Germans were told there would be no more subsistence allotments. They were given permission to leave the settlement for certain designated areas but the Schoharie Valley was forbidden to them. Nevertheless about fifty families cut a road from Schenectady to Schoharie in two weeks time in the dead of winter. One hundred other families joined them in March. They located in seven villages named for the deputies who had made arrangements for them. The Walborns settled in Schmidsdorf now located at the railway station in present-day Schoharie.

 

Trouble with the great landowners and the colonial government still beset the settlement so plans were made to leave for Pennsylvania. (See 114, Christian Walborn for further details concerning the migration to Pennsylvania.)

 

John Adam and his family probably arrived in the Tulpehocken Valley about 1727‑8. He was closely associated with Conrad Weiser, the leader of the group, who settled in nearby Womelsdorf and later became known as Pennsylvania's Indian ambassador, "friend of colonist and Mohawk. " We have few records for John Adam, and it is not known to this writer where and when he and Anna Elizabeth died. 

Their children were:

Andreas

Christian (114)

Maria Elizabeth Mar. Martin Batdorf (?)

Anna Christina b. July 24, 1700, Wiesbach-Nassau, Germany; d. Dec. 17, 1782; bur. Nazareth, Pa. Became a Moravian at Lebanon, Dec. 1747; Mar. Dec. 15, 1721 to Johann George Lesch.

Hermanus b. 1710; d. Jan. 10, 1747; Mar. July 20, 1728 to Maria Margaretha Feg. Moravian records, Bethlehem, Pa.

Maria Catherine Mar. Oct. 6, 1730 to Peter Schell by Rev. John Caspar Stoever.

 

(230)  Martin Batdorf and (231) Maria Elizabeth                             .  

 

The name of Martin Batdorf appears in most of the early records which also list the Walborn name: the Sirnmendinger list names Anna Battorfin, widow, with two children (one of which we can assume was Martin); the list of those who left Schoharie for the Tulpehocken; the petition for a road from Tulpehocken to Oley; and among the charter members of the Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church where he served as a deacon and was a member of the Church Council.

 

In Pennsylvania Martin settled on the banks of the Little Swatara between Frystown and Rehrersburg later acquiring land adjoining that of Christian Walborn in the Tulpehocken valley.

 

He was born in Baden, Germany according to the Lineage Book of the Daughters of the American Colonists, vol. 12, p. 51. He and his wife, Maria Elizabeth, were still living in 1767 according to Berks County records. During their lifetime they deeded their large tract of land to their children arid grandchildren. 

Their children were:

Herman

George Peter

Christian

John Adam

Catherine Elizabeth (115) Mar. Christian Walborn

Catherine Mar. Christian Noecker

Maria Elizabeth

 

(336) Daniel Gorsuch and (337) Alice Hall.  

 

Daniel was born in March or April of 1569 and died a resident of Walkern parish, Hertfordshire, England Oct. 8, 1638 at 69 yrs. 6 mos. and "odd days. " His will was dated Oct. 6, 1638 and proved Nov. 24, 1638 in the Perogative Court of Canterbury. He was described as "gentleman, late citizen and mercer of London."

 

His wife, Alice Hall, born Dec. 25, 1574, daughter of John Hall of London. Married Daniel Gorsuch on April 30, 1599. lived in Weston after his death. Her will was proved in Canterbury Feb. 3, 1662‑3. Both are buried on the south side of the chancel in Walkern Church where their son, John (168), was rector for a time. Walkern village, no longer to be found on the map, was located five miles east from Stevenage and six miles southwest from Buntingford. Among their children was:

John (168)

 

(338) Sir William Lovelace and (339) Anne Barne.

 

William was baptized at St. Alphege's, Canterbury, Feb. 12, 1583‑84 and died Aug. 12, 1627. He was known as Sir William of Woolwich or Sir William the Younger, of  Bethersden. He was a member of the Virginia Company and an incorporator of the Second Virginia Charter of 1609. A soldier by profession he took part in the last siege of Grolle, Holland, where he was killed. His will dated July 15, :62? was proved June 23, 1628. He was married to Anne Barne ca 1610 whose father was likewise interested in the Virginia Company. Anne was born ca 1590 and died in London ca 1633. She was married a second time to Jonathan Browne, LL. D. of Greenwich.

 

Children of Anne and William:

Anne (169) Mar. John Gorsuch

Richard 1617 - 1658. Poet. As Justice of Kent he presented a petition to Parliament from the Kentish royalists in behalf of King Charles I for which he was committed to Gatehouse Prison in 1642. While there he wrote "To Althea from Prison. "

Thomas b. 1619-1620

Francis 1620-1675. Colonial Governor of New York

Joane

William

Elizabeth

Dudley b. 1627, posthumously

 

(352) Ralph Wallen and (353) Joyce                         .

 

The first of the Walling family to come to America were Ralph and Joyce Wallen who arrived at Plymouth in July, 1623 on the ship ANNE, William Peirce, Master. They are presumed to be the parents of Thomas Walling. See Chart Number 176.

 

(354) Daniel Abbott and (355) Mary                      .

 

Daniel was born in Bildestone, England in 1584 and died in 1647 in Providence, Rhode Island. He came to America in the Winthrop Fleet, landing at Salem in 1630. He settled in Cambridge and requested admission as a freeman of the Colony. He is listed as a Juror as of Sept. 18, 1630 and is a freeman in May 1631. He owned a house in 1635 located at the corner of Holyoke and Mt. Auburn Streets which he sold in 1639 to John Russell and moved to Providence, Rhode Island. He was one of the fifty-four of the first settlers there to receive a "homelot. " Nothing is known of his wife, Mary, except that she survived her husband and died in 1643.

 

They had two children:

Daniel

Mary (177) Mar. Thomas Walling

 

(356) Robert Elwell and (357) Joane                            .

 

In an old book entitled "Elwell Ancestry", compiled by Thomas Butler there is an extended defense made by a Mr. Elwell in a trial for heresy and blasphemy before Judge Denton at the Stafford Assizes. As no date is given this writer does not know whether he is Robert Elwell or another member of the family. He says "I lived then at Wolverhampton  in Staffordshire where my ancestors have lived above eleven hundred years ever since the Saxons conquered the Britons." Banks gives Robert Elwell's residence at the time of emigrating to America as the parish of Stoke‑Abbot in Dorsetshire.  

Records state that Robert came to Dorchester, Mass. in 1634. He owned lots #49 and #74. He became a freeman of the Colony in 1640. Apparently he married Joane shortly after arriving in Dorchester and their first child, Samuel, was probably born there. Then he moved to Salem where the next three children were born. He finally settled in Gloucester where he remained until his death May 18, 1683. In Gloucester he was one of two commissioners to "end small causes" in 1651. In 1664 he was a member of the congregation selected to erect a meeting house. His wife, Joane, died March 31, 1675 and he married, secondly, Alice Linch, a widow, on May 29, 1676.

Children of Robert and Joane Elwell were:

Samuel b. ca. 1636; Mar. Esther Dutch

"2nd ch. " d. age 6 mos.

John bap. Nov. 23, 1639; Mar. Jane Durin. Captured by the Indians and died in captivity in 1710

Isaac bap. Dec. 27, 1641; Mar. Mehitabel Millett Josiah b. ca. 1644

Joseph b. ca. 1649; Mar. Mary Dutch

Sarah b. & d. 1651

Sarah b. May 12, 1652

Thomas (178) b. Nov. 12, 1654

Jacob b. June 10, 1657; d. May 20, 1658

Richard b. April 11, 1658

Mary

 

(358) William Bassett and (name unknown).  

 

William was born in England May 30, 1624. His father, Roger Bassett, died three years later and his mother married Hugh Burt. When William was eleven years old the family came to America on the ship "Abigail" as part of the Winthrop Fleet. They settled in Saugus, later renamed Lynn. We hear no more of William until the birth of his third child John in 1653. From this time on the family records appear in Salem. They were involved in the witchcraft trials. The wife of his son, William, was imprisoned for the offense. Elizabeth's first husband, John Proctor, was executed in 1692 and she herself was tried but subsequently released on the same charge.

 

Children:

William Mar: Oct. 25, 1675 to Sarah Hood

Elizabeth Mar. April 1, 1674 to John Proctor

John b. Sept. 1653

Sarah (179) Mar. Thomas Elwell

Merriam b. July 1655; Mar. __________ Sandy

Elisha b. 1656; Mar. Elizabeth _______

Mary b. Jan. 1657; Mar. _________ Ruck

Hannah b. Feb. 1659‑60; Mar. _________Lille, Woburn, Mass.

Samuel b. March 1663

Rebecca b. ca. 1664‑5; Mar. Ephraim Silsbee

 

(460) ___________Batdorf and (461) Anna                     .

 

In the Simmendinger Register published in 1717 Anna Badtorffin is listed as a widow with two children. It is not known when her husband died. One of these is assumed to be Martin as no other by that name appears on the list.

Martin (230)

 

(672) William Gorsuch and (673) Avice Hillson.  

 

Avice Hilson, niece of Robert Hillson, London. n the "Visitation of London" of 1633 William appears as ''Gorsuch, Bishopgate Ward, a merchant. " The name originated in Lancaster County where records of christenings, marriages and burials are found in Ormskirk parish. The arms of the family are: Sable, 2 bars engrailed between 3 fleur‑de‑lis or. Crest: Issuant from a ducal coronet a lion rampant or.

 

Son:   

Daniel (336)

 

(674) John Hall and (675) (Anne Browne).  

 

Anne Browne died Dec. 16, 1619. A merchant of London, "sometimes one of the Bridge Masters. " His will proved Nov. 19, 1618 refers to him as "John Hall, the elder, citizen and draper of London. " Children:

John Will dated Nov. 28, 1644

Alice (337) Mar. Daniel Gorsuch

 

(676) Sir William Lovelace and (677) Elizabeth Aucher.

 

William was baptized at St. Alphege's, Canterbury, Sept. 30, 1561; died at Canterbury October, 1629. He was admitted to Gray's Inn, 1580; knighted for the part he took in the suppression of the rebellion in Ireland. He was a member of the Virginia Company and an incorporator of the Third Virginia Charter in 1614. He married Elizabeth Aucher ca. 1580‑81 who was born between 1561 and 1565, died Dec. 3, 1627 and is buried in Canterbury Cathedral. Children:

Richard 1582‑1602

William (338)

Mabel 1584‑1627; Mar. Feb. 19, 1603 to Sir John Cullimore, mercer.

 

(678) Sir William Barne and (679) Ann Sandys.

 

William Barne was born Jan. 21, 1570 and died at Woolwich, Kent, May 7, 1619. William was knighted at Whitehall July 23, 1603. He Subscribed to the Second Virginia Company. He married Ann Sandys who was born June 21, 1570 and died 1629. They had seven children, all sons except the youngest,

Anne (339) Mar. Sir William Lovelace

 

(708) Thomas Abbott and (709) (name unknown).  

 

Second son of John Abbott; d. 1618.

Daniel Abbott (354)

 

(716) Roger Bassett and (717) Ann Holland.  

 

Roger Bassett is the first known member of this family. He was married April 27, 1623 to Ann Holland. He died sometime before 1627. Ann married secondly Hugh Burt of Dorking, County Surrey. They sailed for America on the ship, "Abigail" from Plymouth on Aug. 1, 1635. Ann died in 1673. 

Children by Roger Bassett:

William (358)

 

(1348) Thomas Hall and (1349)                             .

 

 

(1352) Sergeant William Lovelace and (1353) Anne Lewes.  

 

William was born ca. 1525-30; died March 23, 1577. He was admitted to Gray's Inn in 1549 and called to the bar in 1551. He was elected Member of Parliament for Canterbury in 1558 and returned three times. In 1559 he was appointed to the Commission for the Establishment of Religion. In 1567 he was raised to the rank of "Serjeant‑at‑Law. " On Feb. 28, 1571 he served as justice of Assize for Oxfordshire. He married Anne Lewes who was buried Feb. 25, 1569. They had seven children among whom was:

William (676)

 

After Anne's death he married Mary (White) Carrell by whom he had two daughters.

 

(1354) Edward Aucher and (1355) Mabel Wroth.  

 

Edward Aucher, Esq. was born "shortly before 1540"; died Feb. 14, 1567‑68 at Bishopsbourne, Kent. He married Mabel Wroth June 10, 1560. She was born ca. 1542 and died 1597. After Edward's death she married Richard Hardes. Edward's and Mabel's names appear on the Memorial tablet to Sir Anthony Wroth in the Chancel of Bishopsbourne Church.

 

Their children were:

Sir Anthony

Elizabeth (677) Mar. Sir William Lovelace

 

(1356) Sir George Barne and (1357) Anne Garrard.  

 

George Barne was born ca. 1532; died at Woolwich, Kent, Jan. 2, 1592‑93; was buried at St. Edmund's Lombard Street, London. He was a citizen and haberdasher of London, sheriff of London in 1576, Lord Mayor in 1586, knighted by the Lord Chamberlain June 11, 1587. He married Anne Garrard about 1565. She died Dec. 3, 1611. 

The oldest of their nine children was:

William (678)

 

(1358) The Most Reverend Edwin Sandys, D. D. and (1359) Cecily Wilsford.

 

Edwin Sandys was born in 1519 in the parish of Hawkshead, Furnace Fels, Lancashire; died July 10, 1588, was buried in Southwell Minster, Nottinghamshire. He was educated at St. John's College, Cambridge, receiving an M. A. degree inn 1541. He was Vice Chancellor of the University of Cambridge when Edward VI died in 1553. He supported the Reformation and Lady Jane Grey. When he refused to proclaim Mary queen at Cambridge he was committed to the Tower of  London, then removed to Marshalsea where he was liberated and escaped to the continent in May, 1554. He returned to England when Elizabeth became queen. He was made Bishop of Worcester, Dec. 21, 1559; Bishop of London in 1570; Archbishop of York, 1577 until 1587. He was one of the translators of the Bishops' Bible. His will, probated May 27, 1590, was a sermon of thirteen hundred words.

 

He married 1) Mary Sandys, daughter of William of Wadham, Essex; 2) Cecily Wilsford Feb. 19, 1558‑9. She died early in the year 1610‑11. By her Edwin had ten children among whom were:

Sir Samuel who married the daugher of Sir Francis Wyatt

Sir Edwin

Sir Myles

George, colonial treasurer of the Virginia Company

Anne (679) Mar. Sir William Barne

 

(1416) John Abbott. Of Bildestone, Suffolk County, England. Will dated 1588, ae 75 years. 

 

Two sons:

James

Thomas (708)

 

(2704)  William Lovelace and (2705) Alice (Stevens) Shawe.  

 

William born ca. 1480; died ca. 1540; married Alice (Stevens) Shawe who died ca. 540‑41. Children:

William (1352)

Margaret Mar. July 13, 1556 to Austin Cooke

Elizabeth

 

(2705) Robert Lewes.  

 

Alderman and mayor of Canterbury, 15.36. Daughter:

Anne (1353) Mar. Sgt. William Lovelace

 

(2708) Sir Anthony Aucher and (2709) Affra Cornwallis.  

 

Anthony was born ca. 1500; died Jan. 9, 1558; married ca. 1525 Affra Cornwallis. He inherited the manor of Otterden and purchased the manors of Bishopsbourne and Hautsbourne in 1548. In 1544 he was granted the manor of Lyminge in Kent by King Henry VIII. He was agent for the king in the suppression of the monasteries. On Feb. 22, 1546‑7 he was dubbed Knight of the Carpet by King Edward VI. He was Marshal of Calais in 1557 and was fatally wounded in the fall of the city on Jan. 7, 1558. A memorial tablet in the chancel of the church at Bishopsbourne reads:

Sr Anthony Aucher, Kt / Mareschal of Callice/ Govor of Guisnes/Master of the Jewelhouse/ In the Times of Henry Ye Eight/ Edward Ye Sixt &Queen Mary/ Slain at Ye Loss of Callice/ 1588/ Affra Cornwallis His Wife/ Edward Aucher Their Son and/ Mabel Wroth His Wife/ She Was Buried 1597.

 

Children:

John whose daughter Mar. Sir Humphrey Gilbert, the Navigator

Edward (1354)

Thomas

William

Susannah

 

(2710) Sir Thomas Wroth and (2711) Mary Rich.  

 

Thomas was born 1516; died between 1573 and 1575 at Enfield, Middlesex. As his father died before he came of age he became a ward of the king. He inherited Durrants; was educated at St. John's College, Cambridge; entered Gray's Inn in 1536.

On Oct. 4, 1536 his wardship and marriage was granted by King Hnery VIII to Thomas Cromwell. In 1539 Sir Richard Rich paid Cromwell 300 marks for the right of disposing of Thomas Wroth in marriage and betrothed his third daughter, Mary, to him.

 

Thomas was Gentleman of the Chamber to Prince Edward in 1545; knighted in 1547; Gentleman of Privy Chamber, 1549; one of the Merchant Adventurers to voyage to Morocco in 1552. He participated in Sufford's second rising and fled to the continent until Queen Elizabeth's accession to the throne in 1558. He was commissioner for lord lieutenancy of London in 1569. At the death of King Edward VI he was one of three who were present. 

Among his fourteen children was:

Mabel (1355) Mar. Edward Aucher.

 

(2712) Sir George Barne and (2713) Alice (Brooke) Rolfe.  

 

Sir George died in London Feb. 18, 1557‑58 and was buried at St. Bartholomew‑ the‑Less near the Exchange. He was a haberdasher and sheriff of London in 1545‑46; Lord Mayor of London, 1552; knighted at Whitehall April 11, 1553. He was one of the first of the Merchant Adventurers to go to Barbary, Russia, and Genoa. He was an incorporator of the first English company to be organized for discovery in 1551 and one of the first four consuls of the Merchant Adventurers.

 

He married Alice Brooke Rolfe, sister of Roger Brooke and widow of Richard Relfe. She was buried beside her husband on June 2, 1559. They had five children. Among them were:

George (1356)

Anne who married as her second husband Sir Francis Walsingham.

 

(2714)  Sir William Garrard and (2715) Isabell Nethermill.  

 

Parents of:

(1357) Anne Mar. Sir George Barne

 

(2716) William Sandys and (2717) Margaret Dixon.  

 

William died between 1546 and 1549. They had seven children among whom was:

Edwin (1358 )

 

(2718)  Thomas Wilsford and (2719) Rose Whetenhall. Of Cranbrook. 

Parents of:

Cecily (1359) Mar. Rev. Edwin Sandys

 

(2832)       Simon Abbott.  

 

1484, Bildstone, Suffolk County.

John (1416).

 

(5408) William Lovelace and (5409) Laura Peckham.

 

The Lovelace family has been traced back to John who died ca. 1417. He was the proprietor of Lovelace Place in Bethersden, Kent. His son, Richard, ca. 1390‑1466, was apprenticed to William Foucher and admitted a Freeman of the Mercer's Go. of London in 1415. He married the "heiress of Eynsham. " Their son; William, married Laura Peckham of the family seated at Yatdham in Wrotham, Kent, (2704).

 

Arms - Gules, on a chief indented argent, three martlets sable.

Crest - On a staff raguly vert an eagle displayed argent.

 

(5416) James Aucher and (5417) Alice Hilles.  

 

James Aucher died Jan. 6, 1508-09. Alice Hillis daughter of Thomas Hill. The Aucher family has been traced back to the thirteenth century to Nicholas, son of the Lord of Losenham. Female lines include the names of Churche, Boleyn, St. Leger, Digges, and Northwode, the latter going back to Geoffrey de Saye, one of the barons of  Runnymede. Other spellings of the name, which is French or Norman, are Auger, Augier, Augur.

 

Arms - Ermine, on a chief azure three lions rampant or.

Crest - a bull's head erased gules armed or.

Sir Anthony Aucher (2708)

 

(5418)  William Cornwallis and (5419) Eliza Stamford.  

 

Their home was in Broome, Suffolk.

Affra (2709) Mar. Sir Anthony Aucher

 

(5420) Robert Wroth and (5421) Jane Hawte.  

 

Robert died in 1536. He was attorney of the Duchy of Lancaster; a commissioner appointed to inquire into the possessions of Cardinal Wolsey. He married Jane Hawte (Haute) Goodere, daughter of Sir Thomas Hawte and widow of Thomas Goodere.

 

The Wroths claim descent from William de Wrotham, constable of  Dover Castle in the reign of King John, through his son John Wroth, sheriff of London in 1331 and lord mayor in 1361.

 

Arms - Argent, on a bend sable three lions/ heads erased of the field, crowned or.

Crest - A lion's head erased guardant azure crowned or.

Sir Thomas Wroth (2710)

 

(5822)  Sir Richard Rich and (5823) Elizabeth Jenks.  

 

Parents of:

Mary Rich (2711) Mar. Sir Thomas Wroth

 

(5424)  George Barne.  

 

A haberdasher of London during the latter part of the fifteenth century.

 

Arms - Quarterly 1st & 4th azure, three leopards' heads argent; 2nd & 3rd argent, a chevron azure, between three Cornish choughs sable.

Crest - On a mound vert, an eagle rising argent, beaked and ducally gorged or.  

 

Sir George Barne (2712)

 

(5432) George Sandys and (5433) Margaret Gerard.  

 

This family had been seated at Furnace Fels, Lancashire for four generations. Prior to that the father of the first of three Williams, Robert Sandes, lived at Rattenby Castle, parish of St. Bees, County Cumberland during the reign of King Henry IV.

 

Arms - Or, a fesse dancettee between three crosses, crosslet fitchee gules.

Crest - A griffin segreant per fesse or and gules.

Motto ­ Probum non poenitet.

William (2716)

 

(5433) John Dixon and (5435) Anne Roos.  

 

The Roos line has been traced back through the Thornburgh family to the barons of Runnymede and the kings and courtiers of England, to the Saxon and Irish kings, to William the Conqueror and his companions, through the Anjou line to Charlemagne, etc. See Americana, vol. 37, p. 230ff.

Margaret (2717)

 

(5436) James Wilsford and (5437) Elizabeth Bettenham.  

 

James Wilsford died in 1526. The ancestry of Elizabethgoes back through the Bradbury and Fitz William families to Sir Thomas Dymoke and his wife, Margaret Welles, who were ancestors of George Washington. Margaret was the daughter of Sir Lionel de Welles, a Knight of the Garter, a Plantagenet by descent and a descendant of several of the signatories of the Magna Carta as well as 'of the kings of Scotland.

Thomas (2718)

 

(5664)  Sir Robert Abbot.  

 

Father of:

Simon Abbott (2832)